In a singles game the marker has been given permission to remove bowls that the players agree are dead. During the game a bowl delivered by player A touches the jack which comes to rest near the boundary of the rink. Before either player has checked the position of the jack, the marker removes the jack from the rink of play, and re-spots it according to the conditions of play for the tournament. The players immediately stop the game to question the marker. The players do not agree the jack was outside the rink of play but cannot agree on it’s position on the green. The umpire is called, what should his/her decision be?